Université Gaston Berger

Post image

Gaston Berger University (GBU), or L'Université Gaston Berger (UGB), located some 12 km (7.5 mi) outside Saint-Louis, was the second university established in Senegal (the first being Cheikh Anta Diop University). Originally the University of Saint-Louis, it was renamed for Gaston Berger, an important French-Senegalese philosopher, on December 4, 1996. Gaston Berger University is 12 km from the town of Saint-Louis. The school's primary architectural fixture is the central library's tower, which is visible from national road N2, stretching from Richard-Toll to the Mauritanian border.

The university is situated in two towns, Sanar Peulh and Sanar Wolof, which are inhabited respectively by ethnic Fulas[2] and Wolofs. Many refer to the university by the name "Sanar" due to its location. Alumni are sometimes referred to as "Sunusanars."

Share this page