Frequently Asked questions

The data contents of the portal are categorized into 3 types:

  1. Non-spatial data

  2. Spatial data

  3. Indicators

Non-spatial data is categorized into 3 sub-categories:

  1. Articles

  2. Links

  3. Documents

Spatial data is categorized into 6 sub-categories:

  1. Cadastral Map

  2. Land Cover

  3. Mineral Tenure

  4. Land Conflict

  5. Land Tenure

  6. Land use

All data in NELGA LDH are classified using LandVoc 1.0 thesaurus. All the data are organized into 3 main categories. The thematic boundaries of these categories are overlapping. These categories are:

  1. Access to land and tenure security

  2. Land policy and legalization

  3. Land use, management and investment

In order to reflect the land issues related to the current time, the content of NELGA LDH was categorized into 10 cross-cutting themes. These 10 themes are listed as follows:

  1. Forest Tenure

  2. Indigenous & Community Land Rights

  3. Land & Food Security

  4. Land & Gender

  5. Land Conflicts

  6. Land & Investments

  7. Land Stakeholders & Institutions

  8. Land, Climate change & Environment

  9. Rangelands, Drylands & Pastoralism

  10. Urban Tenure

LandVoc thesaurus also provides a list of 280 concepts, commonly known in the web as “keywords” or “tags.” The main idea behind the LandVoc concepts is to specify what the content is about in detail to make it easy for users to search for a content in the portal using more specific information.

Share this page